HEAVY LOAD - Stronger Than Evil CD / LP

Release date: January 26, 2018

HEAVY LOAD is widely held as the band that started the whole Swedish Heavy Metal wave with their first album in 1978. In addition, they are regarded as the first Viking Metal band in the world. Heavy Load was founded in the depths of midwinter 1974-75 by the two brothers Ragne Wahlquist (vocals, keyboard and guitar) and Styrbjörn Wahlquist (vocals and drums). The brothers’ vision has always been the core of what Heavy Load was all about. In 1978, HEAVY LOAD released their first album entitled “Full Speed at High Level”, and after expanding the line up with a second guitarist, they founded their own recording facility, the famous Thunderload Studios, along with their own label, Thunderload Records. On their own label, they released timeless HEAVY LOAD classics, such as: “Metal Conquest” (1981), “Death Or Glory “(1982) and “Stronger Than Evil” (1983).

Stronger Than Evil” will be available in deluxe digipak CD, jewel case CD, LP + extra CD with the bonus tracks gatefold package (black vinyl available, red vinyl limited to 200 copies is sold out), limited edition box set (200 copies - sold out).

The reissue will contain 6 bonus tracks out of which 4 never have been available publicly before. Both the CD-versions and the LP-versions will contain very extensive booklets designed by the Wahlquist brothers themselves. The booklets will feature previously unpublished photos, as well as the band’s memories and ideas about the songs. In fact, the CD-booklet will be in 32 pages and the LP-booklet will be 12 pages in full LP-size.

The reissue is remastered directly from the original analogue tapes by the Wahlquist Brothers and the LP version will be on 180 gram vinyl, including the 6 bonus tracks in extra CD.

1. Run with the Devil
2. The King
3. Singing Swords
4. Dreaming
5. Stronger than Evil
6. Free
7. Saturday Night
8. Roar of the North
Bonus Tracks:
9. I am Me (vocals Ragne Wahlquist, recorded 1983)
10. Air Raid (vocals Eddy Malm, recorded 1983*)
11. Lionheart (vocals Styrbjörn Wahlquist, recorded 1985*)
12. I´m Alive (vocals Eddy Malm, incl. Andreas Fritz on bass guitar, recorded 1985)
13. Day of Dream (vocals Ragne Wahlquist, recorded 1982*)
14. Sleipnir Unleashed (drum solo, recorded 1983*)

*previously unreleased tracks

Additional Info

  • Release Date: January 26, 2018
  • Style: Heavy Metal
  • Version Info: CD / LP